The Glasgow Restaurant Awards 2012

You voted in your thousands and the competition was fierce, but the winners have finally been announced!

Posh Nosh (Sponsored by Inverarity Morton)
Winner: Brian Maule @ Chandon D'or

• Brian Maule at Chardon D'or
• The Butchershop Bar & Grill
• Two Fat Ladies at The Buttery

Smart But Casual (Sponsored by Inverarity Morton
Winner: Amarone

• 29 The Grill At The Square
• Amarone
• La Bonne Auberge

Casual Dining (Sponsored by Paramount Design & Print)
Winner: Art Lovers Cafe at House for an Art Lover

• House for an Art Lover
• Soho On Miller Street
• Two Fat Ladies at The Shandon Belles

Family Restaurant Of The Year (Sponsored by Martin Aitken & Co)
Winner: La Vita, George Square

• Di Maggio's City Centre
• Di Maggio's Theatreland
• La Vita George Square

Best Italian (Sponsored by Conetta)
Winner: La Lanterna

• La Fiorentina
• La Lanterna
• Ristorante Piccolo Mondo

Non European (Sponsored by Goldstar Chefs)
Winner: Sapporo Teppanyaki

• Dhabba
• Mister Singh's
• Sapporo Teppanyaki

Best Newcomer (Sponsored by First Drinks Brands Ltd)
Winner: Lychee Oriental

• Cup Tea Lounge
• Le Bistro Beaumartin
• Lychee Oriental

Best Breakfast (Sponsored by Rodgers Butchers)
Winner: Cafe Gandolfi

• Cafe Gandolfi
• Restaurant at Blythswood Square
• Stravaigin

Outstanding Maitre D' Of The Year (Sponsored by Glasgow Service With Style)
Winner: Ali Mohammed - Charcoals

• Ali Mohammed - Charcoals
• Sheonagh Struthers - Grosvenor
• Steven Whitbread - Brian Maule at Chardon D'or
• Thomas Salmon - Rogano

5pm Citizens Award (Sponsored by
Winner: Number 16

• Guys
• Number 16
• Rogano

Aspiring Front of House Manager (Sponsored by City of Glasgow College)
Winner: Claire McCulloch - Restaurant at Blythswood Square

Highly Commended:

• Ryan Simmons - Two Fat Ladies at The Buttery
• Cal Henry - Brian Maule at Chardon D’or

Young Chef of the Year (Sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions)
Winner: Morven Gibson - Restaurant at Blythswood Square

Highly Commended:

• Scot Smith - Cail Bruich
• Dawn Rooney - 29 Grill Room at the Square

Best Use of Social Media (Sponsored by Glasgow City Marketing Bureau)
Winner: Arisaig

Greenest Restaurant (Sponsored by Zero Waste Scotland)
Winner: Cup Tea Lounge

Kitchen Porter of the Year (Sponsored by The Scottish Fishmonger)
Winner: Peter Hynes - The Pipers' Tryst

Auchentoshan Spirit of Glasgow (Sponsored by Auchentoshan)
Winner: Guy Cowan

Auchentoshan Entrepreneurial Spirit of the Year (Sponsored by Auchentoshan)
Winner: Maurice Taylor

Lifetime Achievement (Sponsored by The Cook School Scotland)
Winner: Jim & Gilly Wilson

Overall Best Restaurant of the Year (Sponsored by Inverarity Morton)
Winner: Amarone


Reception & Interval Sponsors: Dunns Food and Drink, Curries Red Kola, The Cook School Scotland and Crolla's.

Afterparty Sponsors: First Drinks Brands Ltd, Brakes.


Follow the awards on Twitter    Follow the awards on Facebook